browser icon
You are using an insecure version of your web browser. Please update your browser!
Using an outdated browser makes your computer unsafe. For a safer, faster, more enjoyable user experience, please update your browser today or try a newer browser.

Schengen visa


The Netherlands is one of the 26 European countries that is part of the Schengen Area. The countries of the Schengen area have a common visa, the Schengen visa. For a short stay in the Netherlands or Schengen Area you may need a visa, which depends on your nationality. On this website you can check if you need a visa.

The 26 Schengen states are: Austria, Belgium, CzechRepublic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

If you need a Schengen visa then there are four Schengen visa requirements: a valid passport, enough money (€34 a day), a reason to visit the Netherlands and you are not a threat to national security. With a Schengen visa you are allowed to stay 90 days. Click here for the Schengen visa form. For a longer stay than 90 days you need to apply for an MVV procedure (authorisation for temporary stay).

Countries of the Schengen area have no border control anymore. This makes it easy to travel through Europe. Another advantage is that most of the Schengen countries use Euro as currency. Read more about currency on the page Holland currency.