browser icon
You are using an insecure version of your web browser. Please update your browser!
Using an outdated browser makes your computer unsafe. For a safer, faster, more enjoyable user experience, please update your browser today or try a newer browser.

Holland currency

The Holland currency is the Euro. In 2002 the Euro replaced the Dutch Guilder in The Netherlands. The Euro can also be used in 17 other member states of the European Union. The Euro countries are: Austria, Belgium, Cyprus, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia and Spain. Other states that also use the Euro as currency are Andorra, Kosovo, Monaco, Montenegro, San Marino and Vatican City.

Euro coins that exist are: 1c, 2c, 5c, 10c, 20c, 50c, 1€ and 2€. In most shops in the Netherlands the 1c and 2c are abolished and prices are round off in 5c. Euro banknotes are: €5, €10, €20, €50, €100, €200 and €500. €100, €200 and €500 are rarely used in shops and frequently even will not be accepted.


ATM’s can be found in most villages and cities. It depends on your bank if it is best to exchange money in your own country, in the Netherlands or to use ATM’s. Usually it is best to use ATM’s instead of exchanging money at exchange offices. In restaurants it is common to give a tip of 5–10%, of course only if you are happy with the service and like the food. In hotels in the Netherlands it is common to give a small tip for cleaning your room and taxi drivers also expect a tip, about 10%.

Click here for a currency converter.


More information here.